user: pass:
prev. | next | track | email | print
Diets and Mineral Block
bigrobict

New User

Posted: Sep 26 2008, 02:56 AM
I have just taken over the rhino routine at our park and was wondering what do you all feed your rhinos. Also do they need a salt/mineral block? I have found a few things online that say in the wild they love salt licks so I was wondering if they need it. Thanks Robert
Willem

Administrator

Posted: Oct 6 2008, 10:48 PM
I believe salt licks are of great importance and pretty crucial for good rhino health. I'm not an expert though. You might want to consult the husbandry manual:

Rhino Husbandry Manual

At what park have you just started, if I may ask?

--------------------
Willem van Strien - Rhino Resource Center Admin
bigrobict2

New User

Posted: Dec 15 2008, 05:09 AM
I am at Tanganyika Wildlife Park in Goddard Kansas. Right now we have 3.0 Indian and 1.0 Black.
CassandraS

Advanced Member

Posted: Dec 16 2008, 09:14 PM
For our black rhinos, we use a mineral pellet that we get in bags from the local feed store. It is a lot easier to add to their pellets daily than trying to protect a block from being destroyed.

--------------------

Cassandra Sampson
Great Plains Zoo
Sioux Falls, SD
cydneyp

Posted: Mar 4 2009, 07:33 PM
bigrobict,